Harding Senior High School teacher Robert Pilot. Photo submitted.

Harding teacher marching, playing trumpet in 88th annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade
A teacher at Harding Senior High School will embark on the experience of a lifetime when he marches next week in the 88th annual Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade in New York City.

Robert Pilot, who teaches technology education including video production, will be playing the trumpet with the Madison Scouts Drum and Bugle Corps of Madison, Wis. In total, 12 marching bands will be performing at the parade.

The parade will be televised 9 a.m. Thursday, Nov. 27, on NBC, Ch. 11. Read a Q&A with Pilot about his trip to the parade.

Mary Tomes named Minnesota School Nurse of the Year
Nurse Mary Tomes of SPPS was recognized Nov. 8 as the Minnesota School Nurse of the Year by the School Nurse Organization of Minnesota. Tomes joined SPPS in 2008. She has worked as a school nurse in a variety of settings, beginning with the Minnesota Migrant Program during harvest in 1979. Currently, Tomes is assigned to Early Childhood Special Education and serves as a coach to elementary school nurses. Read more about Nurse Tomes at studentwellness.spps.org.

Johnson's Amy Ensign earns her National Board Teacher Certification
Amy Ensign, an English teacher at Johnson High School, recently earned her National Board Teacher Certification. National Board Standards are achieved through the four components of the certification process: a content knowledge assessment, reflections on student work samples, classroom video and analysis, and documentation of the teacher's impact as a teaching professional.

3 SPPS students earn privilege to participate in Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe trip to Washington D.C.
Three Saint Paul Public Schools students from the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe will have the opportunity to participate in a ceremony for the 2014 U.S. Capitol Christmas Tree lighting in Washington D.C.

Dominic Rushman, a ninth-grader at Como Senior High School; Kathleen Goggleye, a seventh-grader at American Indian Magnet School; and Nadia Scott, an eighth-grader at the American Indian Magnet School, have been selected for the trip based on their grades, attendance, submitted essays and their commitment to complete school work during the trip. SPPS staff identified students to apply for the opportunity. Read more on spps.org.

Mary Frances Clardy appointed to Minnesota Board of Teaching
Mary Frances Clardy was recently appointed by Gov. Mark Dayton to the Minnesota Board of Teaching. Clardy, who has been a teacher for 19 years, works as an Elementary Literacy Content Coach at Barack and Michelle Obama Elementary. She began serving on the 11-member board Nov. 14.

"I am truly amazed and honored to be selected from among many highly-qualified Minnesota educators to serve on the governor's board," Mary Frances Clardy said. "The voice of teachers has the power to bring greater integrity to our profession through policies that positively impact our students and colleagues. I'm grateful for this opportunity to work with the Board toward ensuring Minnesota students have the lifelong benefit of a highly effective educator and high-quality education in every classroom."

The Minnesota Board of Teaching establishes and maintains licensure standards and requirements, approves institutions and licensure programs, and establishes and enforces the Code of Ethics for Minnesota teachers.

More than 200 SPPS students participate in Saint Paul High School Choir Festival
More than 200 Saint Paul Public Schools students participated in the Saint Paul High School Choir Festival Nov. 20, at Johnson Aerospace and Engineering High School. The festival included choirs from Central High School, Como Senior High School and Johnson.

Teachers receive Inspired Educator Grants from SPPS Foundation
The Saint Paul Public Schools Foundation is excited to announce this year’s Inspired Educator Grant recipients. Congratulations to the following Saint Paul teachers, who received a total of more than $26,000.

Here’s a full list of the Inspired Educator Grant recipients:

  • Farnsworth Aerospace Elementary: Jennifer Brown, Tammy Xiong, Jane Venegas, Elizabeth Elfstrand, Linda Pruden and Jennie Deming for “Aerospace Enrichment in the Kindergarten Classroom”
  • Jie Ming Mandarin Immersion Academy: Julia Fung and Bobbie Johnson for “Enrichment Through Hands-On Learning - Ancient Chinese Inventions That Shaped History”
  • Riverview Westside School of Excellence: Teresa Glass for “Phase 2: Materials/Accommodations for Optimal Classroom Success for All”
  • Dayton's Bluff: Rachel Hallanger and Jane Barkholtz for “Tools and Strategies to Increase Engagement and Success for All Students”
  • Mississippi Creative Arts Magnet School: Carol Henseler, Suzanne Cecere, Susan Kreidler, Stephanie Draayer and Aryn Ignatowicz for “Language Development Through Puppetry”
  • Creative Arts School: Leocadio Herrera for “On the 'Zine”
  • Creative Arts School: Randy Schutt, Greg Anderson, Aaron Liebo and Daniel Perelstein for “Learning2Crawl - Going to Scale”
  • Central High School: Anthony Jacobs and Jesse Kwakenat for “Becoming an Author -- Finding our Voice”
  • Washington Technology Magnet Secondary: Emily Kjesbo-Johnson, Zach Easty, Charlie O’Donnel, Roshan Anglin and Michael Krech for “Cross Cultural Statistical Analysis : How do numbers tell our stories?”
  • Linwood Monroe Arts Plus: Kim Kroetsch and Ann Smith for “Classroom Connection”
  • Highland Middle School: Julie Mahoney, Natalie Cossetta-Recker and Hannah Riederer for “Sensory Materials to Promote Student Success and Inclusion for Students on the Autism Spectrum”
  • Hazel Park Preparatory Academy: Kari Musil, Carlottia Davis and Angela Phillips for “African American History - The People!”
  • Hazel Park Preparatory Academy: Elizabeth Robinette, Veu Thor and Ashley Scheinoha for “African American Fables, Legends, and Folktales”
  • Cherokee Heights Elementary: Tammy Otto for “Baking Up Economics”
  • Cherokee Heights Elementary: Rebecca Powers and Aimee Rumpza for “Genre of the Month”
  • Parkway Montessori and Community Middle School: Kristin Simonson for “Erdkinder Garden”